Are you a generous Australian?

This morning as I sat down to breakfast, I opened the paper, and was confronted with the sad reality that the average Australian gives only $292 per year to charities. This, I suppose, is not too surprising in a country that allocates less than 1% of it’s budget to foreign aid. This makes me sad. I don’t know about you, but I usually feel overwhelmed by the vast number of charities asking for money. (I’m sure I’m not the only one who is silently relieved when the hawker on the street picks on the person in front of me, allowing me to slip quickly by). On more than one occasion I have been guilty of researching different charities only to give up before deciding because I was too confused by all the options.

The problem of so many different charities is not really a problem at all. It is overwhelming to be sure, but it simply means that there are lots of different people out there caring for and loving people in need and distress, and those who are without basic needs. Think about what you’re passionate about (education, children’s immunisation, women’s empowerment, freedom from slavery and oppression, access to clean water, etc.) and be passionate about it!

Leave a Reply

