Comforting words

You will say in that day:
I will give thanks to you, O Lord,
for though you were angry with me,
your anger turned away,
that you might comfort me. Isaiah 12:1.

I can’t quite wrap my head around this. When someone is angry with me I am so much more likely to run to another for comfort, for a hug, for a kind word, for a cup of tea. I am so unlikely to turn to the same person for comfort, because for some strange reason I feel like anger means that trust has been betrayed and I don’t want comfort from them. Odd.

This morning, as I drink a large cup of Earl Grey tea, while listening to the rain fall outside, I am having my mind quietly blown by the fact that God, the one who judges his people for their wickedness is also the one who comforts them in the face of that judgement. What an amazing God. I guess because God is proven to be trustworthy even in his anger, I don’t need to be afraid to turn to him for comfort.

Now that’s a word of comfort.

Leave a Reply

